Candy Buttons

I am very disappointed to discover that Necco Candy Buttons are made with gelatin, and are therefore not vegetarian. While hunting for this image, I also found out that Necco is the exclusive manufacturer of candy buttons (in the U.S.), so there is no animal-free alternative. Additionally, I was shocked to read that the buttons are supposed to represent three flavors: cherry, lime, and lemon. Did any of you ever taste flavor in these things? I only get “sugar” and occasionally “paper” from them.

And another thing: Why is the mascot for Necco (New England Confectionary Co.) a kid in a ten-gallon hat? I’m just wondering.

Advertisements

3 Replies to “Candy Buttons”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s